Academic Search PremierCultureGramsLearningExpress LibraryLiterature Resource CenterNBCLearnOpposing Viewpoints in Context
BusinessEducationEnglish/WritingHistoryLawNursing/Allied HealthReference/Encyclopedias/GeneralScience and Technology
This is the "Databases" page of the "Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Databases  

Use the LRC's subscription databases to find articles for your research.
Last Updated: May 8, 2012 URL: http://libguides.tcl.edu/databaselist Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Accessing Resources Off-Campus

After you click on a database, ebooks, or Noodletools link, you will be asked for the following information:

Username: 7-digit TCL ID number

Password: first initial of first name + last three digits of Social Security number (example: John Smith, SSN 1234567, Password: j567)

Databases A-Z

This page is an alphabetical list of all TCL databases. If you wish to view databases for a specific subject, please click on one of the following subject areas:

 

Business Education English/Writing History
Law Nursing/Allied Health Reference/Encyclopedias/General Science and Technology

 

Off-campus users: After you click on a database, you will be asked to enter your name and TCL ID number. Please contact a librarian if you have any difficulty logging in.

 

A · B · C · D · E · F · G · H · I · J · K · L · M · N · O · P · Q · R · S · T · U · V · W · X · Y · Z

A

Academic Search Premier 

The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

 

B

Biography in Context (Gale)  

Comprehensive source for biographical information.Over 300,000 biographies of people from around the world and throughout history.Quick reference information on nearly one million people from Who’s Who sources.Full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and links to selected biography Web sites.

 

Britannica Online Academic Edition 

Comprehensive source of encyclopedia content and related materials
• Includes Encyclopaedia Britannica and Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary & Thesaurus
• Links to Web sites for The New York Times and BBC News
• Additional content sources include World Data Analyst, Notable Quotations and Gateway to the Classics
• Access to the Britannica Blog, stimulating dialogue covering a wide range of topics

 

Building Green           

"BuildingGreen Suite gives you the best information on green design in a membership-based website format. This online resource features comprehensive, practical information on a wide range of topics related to sustainable building--from energy efficiency and recycled-content materials to land-use planning and indoor air quality. BuildingGreen Suite integrates online versions of GreenSpec product listings, high-quality articles about green buildings, peer-to-peer comments, and more than 250 project case studies. This wealth of information is searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEED™ credit, or green topic. Each article, product listing, and case study also lists related content and information sources," (BuildingGreen.com).

 

Business Source Premier 

Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 7,600 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

 

C

CINAHL Plus with Full Text 

CINAHL Plus with Full Textprovides indexing for 1,835 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.

 

Computer Source 

Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for more than 300 publications, covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications. Computer Source provides researchers with full text journals such as AI Communications, Applied Artificial Intelligence, Computer Science Education, Cybernetics & Systems, Electromagnetics, Expert Systems, Information Systems Research, International Journal of Computational Engineering Science, International Journal of Computational Intelligence & Application, International Journal of Electronics, International Journal of Foundations of Computer Science, International Journal of High Speed Computing, International Journal of Systems Science, Journal of High Speed Networks, Journal of Information Systems, Journal of Intelligent & Fuzzy Systems, Journal of Management Information Systems, Mathematical Programming, MIS Quarterly, Monte Carlo Methods & Applications, Neural Computation, Theory of Computing Systems, Transactions of the Institute of Measurement & Control and many more. Leading general magazines are also provided including: eWeek, Fast Company, MacWorld, PC Magazine, PC World, Red Herring, Software Magazine, etc. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1985.

 

CultureGrams 

Separate editions for: World, States, Provinces and Kids200+ United Nations-member countries included, with reports containing history, customs, family, lifestyle, recipes, economy and more. Each U.S. state, the District of Columbia, and the 13 Canadian provinces are included, with reports containing maps, flags, symbols, history, economy, geography, population and more. Video stories, slideshows, a worldwide photo gallery and create-your-own data tables.

 

E

ERIC 

ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals.

 

Evidence-Based Nursing  

Selects and examines every aspect of the very best international nursing research for your practice.

 

F

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center 

A career research database with its Job and Industry Profiles section providing information on nearly 3,400 jobs and 94 industries, broken down into 16 Career Clusters created by the Department of Education.These profiles are presented through overview articles and videos. The Career and Industry Resources section includes more than 55,000 entries on scholarships, internships, and more, divided into easily browsable categories with searchable records. Videos: Nearly 300 videos introduce users to a wide variety of jobs, industries, and career development skills.

 

Funk and Wangalls New World Encyclopedia 

For students and adults alike, the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas. This database is updated annually.

 

G


 

H

 

 

L

LearningExpress Library 

A comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons-students and adult learners-succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass.You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results.

 

Literature Resource Center 

 Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. Scribner Writer's Series includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres drawn from 13 acclaimed Scribner print series. Twayne World, US, and English Authors each contains the full text of 200 frequently used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors, for a total of 600 full-text titles.

 

M

MEDLINE 

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.

 

Military and Government Collection 

Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 400 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 500 titles.

 

MLA Directory of Periodicals 

 The MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography. The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.

 

MLA International Bibliography 

 MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.6 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.

 

N

NBC Learn  

NBC News makes available thousands of videos, historic newsreels, primary source documents, photographs and more to instructors, researchers and student in many subjects, including History, English, Health & Wellness, Science, and Business.

  • Thousands of Historic: Film and Video Clips From the earliest days of film and television news to the latest current events.
  • Primary Source Documents:Hundreds of historic documents, newspaper articles, letters, and more.
  • Personal Playlists: Create your own collections of resources and share them with friends and colleagues.
  • Download Videos: Use them in class, embed them in projects, play them back without an internet connection.
  • Dozens of Collections: 26 Subject areas from Economics to Environmental Sciences. Premium Partner Content: From The Washington Post, the Gilder Lehrman Institute, and other partners.
  • All NBC Learn resources are automatically available to TCL users. To save videos to playlists, click “Register Now” at the top right hand corner of the screen. You will be asked to create a password. Note: This is not required. TCL users have full access to NBC Learn without registering.

 

Nursing Resource Center 

Designed for nursing students, the Nursing Resource Center brings together in an easy-to-use interface disease and drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results and animated anatomy and physiology diagrams to complement the core encyclopedia texts. The information is written in accessible language for students completing class assignments and preparing for clinicals as they learn how to care for and treat patients.

 

O

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) 

 Opposing Viewpoints is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints, OVIC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites. New to the database are Lexile reading levels for periodicals and an integrated national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to the standards.

 

Ovid Nursing Collection II: Lippincott Premier Nursing Journals 

Ovid Nursing "offers a wide and growing range of high-quality resources from multiple publishers for the nursing and allied health communities — in education and training, in practice, in research and in administration".

 

P 

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection 

This database provides coverage of more than 550 full text journals, including more than 525 peer-reviewed titles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

 

R

Rand State Statistics

RAND State Statistics contains nearly 80 databases in multiple categories, including Business and Economics, Community, Education, Energy and Environment, Government Finance, Health, and Population and Demographics. Much of the data is available at the national, state, county, and city levels. Data is updated on a regular basis.

Regional Business News 

Regional Business News incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and news wires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc.

 

S

Salem Health: Magill's Medical Guide  

"The Guide is a perfect mix of accessibility and depth, providing general readers with an authoritative reference source that helps bridge the gap between medical encyclopedias for professionals and popular self-help guides. It is an up-to-date and easy-to-use compendium of medical information suitable for student research as well as use by general readers, including patients and caregivers."

 

U


 

W

Westlaw Campus Research

Law and business: comprehensive collection of news and business information and law-related resources.

 

      

    Head Librarian

    Profile Image
    Cindy Halsey
    Contact Info
    843-470-8396
    Send Email
    My favorite books::
    I'm a huge fan of author, John Irving.
     

    Databases Brought to You by DISCUS and PASCAL

    Click on an icon for more information about DISCUS and PASCAL.

     

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip