Academic Search CompleteCultureGramsLearningExpress LibraryLiterature Resource CenterNBCLearnOpposing Viewpoints in ContextSTAT!Ref
BiologyBusinessCriminal JusticeEducationEnglish/WritingHistoryLawNews/Current EventsNursing/Allied HealthReference/Encyclopedias/GeneralScience and Technology
This is the "Databases" page of the "Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Databases  

Use the LRC's subscription databases to find articles for your research.
Last Updated: Apr 21, 2014 URL: http://libguides.tcl.edu/databaselist Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases A-Z

This page is an alphabetical list of all TCL databases. If you wish to view databases for a specific subject, please click on one of the following subject areas:

 

Biology  Business Criminal Justice Education English/Writing History   
Law News/Current Events Nursing/Allied Health Reference/Encyclopedias/General Science and Technology

 

Off-campus users: After you click on a database, you will be asked to enter your username and password. Please contact a librarian if you have any difficulty logging in.

 

A · B · C · D · E · F · G · H · I · J · K · L · M · N · O · P · Q · R · S · T · U · V · W · X · Y · Z

A
Academic Search Complete
PASCAL database

Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

AGRICOLA   DISCUS database

Containing bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, AGRICOLA provides access to more than 4.9 million citations. AGRICOLA encompasses all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal & veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture & fisheries, farming & farming systems, agricultural economics, extension & education, food & human nutrition, agricultural engineering & technology, and earth & environmental sciences.

Alt HealthWatch   DISCUS database

Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Offers full-text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed, journals and reports. Note: Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.

AP NewsMonitor Collection DISCUS database

EBSCO's AP News provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press on a continuous basis. This content is monitored by EBSCO and relevant results are provided when users enter searches in EBSCOhost. This collection includes AP Top News, WorldStream, Financial News, AP Online, U.S. Politics & Government and 50 State Reports.

Applied Science & Technology Full Text (H.W. Wilson)  DISCUS database

Covering of a wide variety of applied science specialties—from acoustics and aeronautics, to neural networks and nuclear & civil engineering—Applied Science & Technology Full Text provides full-text content and in-depth indexing and abstracts from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers’ guides, directories and conference proceedings.

Associates Programs Source  DISCUS database

Provides full-text coverage for a broad range of subject areas studied within Associate's Degree programs. Students are provided with access to full-text journals and full-text books with content relevant to associates program level content.

Auto Repair Reference Center  DISCUS database

Contains repair and maintenance information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. New repair procedures, TSBs and updates are added to the product on a regular basis.

 

B

Biography in Context (Gale)   DISCUS database

Comprehensive source for biographical information.Over 300,000 biographies of people from around the world and throughout history.Quick reference information on nearly one million people from Who’s Who sources.Full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and links to selected biography Web sites.

Bloom's Literary Reference Center  DISCUS database

Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.

Britannica Online Academic Edition  DISCUS database

Comprehensive source of encyclopedia content and related materials
• Includes Encyclopaedia Britannica and Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary & Thesaurus
• Links to Web sites for The New York Times and BBC News
• Additional content sources include World Data Analyst, Notable Quotations and Gateway to the Classics

Building Green    TCL Database       

Features comprehensive, practical information on a wide range of topics related to sustainable building--from energy efficiency and recycled-content materials to land-use planning and indoor air quality. BuildingGreen Suite integrates online versions of GreenSpec product listings, high-quality articles about green buildings, peer-to-peer comments, and more than 250 project case studies. (BuildingGreen.com).

Business Source Alumni Edition DISCUS database

Designed for the research needs of the post-college professional, this database provides more than 1,300 full-text business magazines and journals, of which over 650 are peer-reviewed. Business Source Alumni Edition includes publications in nearly every area of business including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics, economics and more.

Business Source Complete  DISCUS database

Provides access to peer-reviewed, business related journals. Full text content includes company profiles, financial reports, case studies, and market research reports.

 

C

CINAHL Plus with Full Text  PASCAL database

CINAHL Plus with Full Textprovides indexing for 1,835 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.

Company Profiles DISCUS database

Business database containing basic profiles on major companies.

Computer Source  DISCUS database

Provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. Offers full text for more than 300 publications, covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1985.

Consumer Health Complete  DISCUS database

Comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Note: Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.


Credo Reference  DISCUS database

General/subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, quotations, thesauri, video, music, and images on major subjects such as science, history, religion, art, philosophy, and politics.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text DISCUS database

Includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology.

CultureGrams  DISCUS database

Separate editions for: World, States, Provinces and Kids200+ United Nations-member countries included, with reports containing history, customs, family, lifestyle, recipes, economy and more. Each U.S. state, the District of Columbia, and the 13 Canadian provinces are included, with reports containing maps, flags, symbols, history, economy, geography, population and more.

 

E

ebrary eBooks - eBooks in multiple subject areas, including Language and Literature, History, Science, and Education.

Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson)  DISCUS database

Provides coverage for a wide range of topics, including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education, teaching methods and much more. In addition, Education Full Text provides in-depth coverage of special education, with over 50 journals dedicated to this important topic.

Entrepreneurial Studies Source  PASCAL database

Full text for hundreds of periodicals and reference books, numerous case studies, thousands of company profiles and hundreds of videos with transcripts and related articles from the Harvard Faculty Seminar Series and Vator.TV, one of the world's largest social network sites for high-tech entrepreneurs. Covers numerous subjects related to entrepreneurship and small businesses.

ERIC  DISCUS database

ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals.

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750  DISCUS database

In cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, EBSCO Publishing created a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. Covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples.

Evidence-Based Nursing   TCL Database

Selects and examines every aspect of the very best international nursing research for your practice.

 

F

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center  DISCUS database

A career research database with its Job and Industry Profiles section providing information on nearly 3,400 jobs and 94 industries, broken down into 16 Career Clusters created by the Department of Education.These profiles are presented through overview articles and videos. The Career and Industry Resources section includes more than 55,000 entries on scholarships, internships, and more, divided into easily browsable categories with searchable records. Videos: Nearly 300 videos introduce users to a wide variety of jobs, industries, and career development skills.

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text  DISCUS database

Contains articles from books and journals covering a wide variety of subjects, including Cinematography, Film & Television Theory, Preservation & Restoration, Production, and Screenwriting.

 

Fuente Academica  DISCUS database

A collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology.

Funk and Wangalls New World Encyclopedia  DISCUS database

For students and adults alike, the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas. This database is updated annually.

 

G

GreenFILE  DISCUS database

Offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.

H

Health Source: Consumer Edition  DISCUS database
This resource provides access to over 80 full-text consumer health magazines. Also included in this database is searchable full text for current health-related pamphlets and nearly 130 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. Note: Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.
 
Provides access to nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, particularly nursing and allied health, including full text from Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more.
 
Features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. Contains nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 37,400 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Information on the hospitality and tourism industry from periodicals, many with full text access. Subjects covered include Culinary Arts, Food & Beverage Management, Hospitality Law, Hotel Management & Adminstrative Practices, and Market Trends

 

L

LearningExpress Library  DISCUS database

A comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons-students and adult learners-succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass.You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results. Note: Beginning July, 2014, you must access LearningExpress via the 3.0 link below. You will need to re-register (for free) in the new version. Please be aware that tests and tutorials started in the old version of LearningExpress will not transfer to 3.0. Please finish all work in progress prior to July 1, 2014.

LearningExpress Library 3.0 DISCUS database

The new and improved version of LearningExpress Library. A comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons-students and adult learners-succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass.You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results.

Literary Reference Center  DISCUS database

Provides users with information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Combines information from major respected reference works, books and literary journals, as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Contains full text for more than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticism; more than 252,000 author biographies (including more than 22,000 in-depth bios); 450 literary journals, etc.

Literature Resource Center  PASCAL database

Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline.

 

M

MEDLINE with Full Text  DISCUS database

Provides full text for journals indexed in MEDLINE, most of which include cover-to-cover indexing. These top journals cover a wide range of subjects within the biomedical and health fields containing information needed by doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.

Military and Government Collection  DISCUS database

Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 400 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 500 titles.

MLA Directory of Periodicals  DISCUS database

The MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography. The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.

MLA International Bibliography  DISCUS database

 MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.6 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.

 

N

NBC Learn   TCL Database

NBC News makes available thousands of videos, historic newsreels, primary source documents, photographs and more to instructors, researchers and student in many subjects, including History, English, Health & Wellness, Science, and Business.

  • All NBC Learn resources are automatically available to TCL users. To save videos to playlists, click “Register Now” at the top right hand corner of the screen. You will be asked to create a password. Note: This is not required. TCL users have full access to NBC Learn without registering.

Newspaper Source Plus  DISCUS database

Includes more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, providing more than 38 million full-text articles. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as the Christian Science MonitorSan Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC) and others.

NoveList Plus  DISCUS database

Complete readers' resources, with information on over 260,000 fiction and readable nonfiction titles included, plus feature content including lists of award-winning books, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, Recommended Reads and more.

Nursing Resource Center  DISCUS database

Designed for nursing students, the Nursing Resource Center brings together in an easy-to-use interface disease and drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results and animated anatomy and physiology diagrams to complement the core encyclopedia texts. The information is written in accessible language for students completing class assignments and preparing for clinicals as they learn how to care for and treat patients.

 

O

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)  DISCUS database

Source for information on today's hottest social issues. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints, OVIC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.

 

P 

Points of View Reference Center  DISCUS database

Contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including more than 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.

Political Science Complete  DISCUS database

Provides extensive coverage on a variety of subjects, including comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations, and political theory.

Professional Development Collection  DISCUS database

Comprehensive collection of full-text education journals. Includes full text for more than 520 high-quality education journals including: Booklist, Education, Education Digest, Education Week, Educational Leadership, High School Journal, Journal of Education, Journal of Educational Research, Phi Delta Kappan, Reading Teacher, School Library Journal, and many others. This database also contains nearly 230 educational reports.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection  DISCUS database

Provides coverage of more than 550 full text journals, including more than 525 peer-reviewed titles. Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

 

R

Rand State Statistics TCL Database

RAND State Statistics contains nearly 80 databases in multiple categories, including Business and Economics, Community, Education, Energy and Environment, Government Finance, Health, and Population and Demographics. Much of the data is available at the national, state, county, and city levels. Data is updated on a regular basis.

Regional Business News  DISCUS database

Incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and news wires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Religion and Philosophy Collection  DISCUS database

Comprehensive database covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

S

Salem Health: Magill's Medical Guide   TCL Database

"The Guide is a perfect mix of accessibility and depth, providing general readers with an authoritative reference source that helps bridge the gap between medical encyclopedias for professionals and popular self-help guides. It is an up-to-date and easy-to-use compendium of medical information suitable for student research as well as use by general readers, including patients and caregivers."

Science Reference Center  DISCUS database

Comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, technology and wildlife.

Small Business Reference Center  DISCUS database

Offers a wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and provides information on how to create business plans that lead to successful funding. A collection of state-specific resources supports the researcher with demographic data and other local information.


STAT!Ref  PASCAL database

Collection of online healthcare and biology resources. Includes Anatomy and Physiology Online, MedCalc 3000, and AAFP Conditions A to Z.

T

Teacher Reference Center  DISCUS database

Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.

This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms, including controversial opinions and viewpoints. Contains full text for over 140,000 articles from nearly 260 diverse sources including international newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.

 

U


 

V

Vocational and Career Collection  DISCUS database

Provides full-text coverage for more than 330 trade and industry related periodicals including Modern Machine Shop, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Reeves Journal, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more.

 

W

Westlaw Campus ResearchTCL Database

Law and business: comprehensive collection of news and business information and law-related resources.

Women's Studies International  DISCUS database

From the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research, this database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science and economy, public policy, international relations, arts and humanities, business and education.

      
     

    Accessing Resources Off-Campus

    After you click on a database, ebooks, or Noodletools link, you will be asked for the following information:

    Username: 7-digit TCL ID number

    Password: first initial of first name + last three digits of Social Security number (example: John Smith, SSN 1234567, Password: j567)

     

    Librarian/Tutor Chat

     

    QEP: Be Advised!

    Be Advised

    What's the Buzz? The QEP! Learn everything you need to know by watching this short video.

     

    Databases Brought to You by DISCUS and PASCAL

    Our databases are purchased with help from DISCUS and PASCAL. Click here for a complete listing of databases provided by DISCUS (South Carolina's Virtual Library): http://scdiscus.org/discus-resources.

    Click on an icon for more information about DISCUS and PASCAL.

     

    DISCUS databases

    PASCAL Databases

    Head Librarian

    Profile Image
    Cindy Halsey
    Contact Info
    843-470-8396
    Send Email
    My favorite books:
    I'm a huge fan of author, John Irving.
     

    What do you think?

    Was this information helpful?

    How useful is this page?
    (1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

    Additional comments:


    Your Email:


    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip