APA Practice-Book 2APA Practice-DatabaseAPA Practice-Database 2
This is the "Home" page of the "APA Citation Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

APA Citation Guide   Tags: apa_citation, citation  

Use the resources and examples in this guide to help you cite your sources using the APA citation style.
Last Updated: Mar 27, 2012 URL: http://libguides.tcl.edu/apa Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Director for Learning Resources

Profile Image
Cindy Halsey
Contact Info
843-470-8396
Send Email
My favorite books::
I'm a huge fan of author, John Irving.
 

Using APA Citation Style

Correct citation is an essential part of the research process. Use the APA citation style for sources consulted for academic research, papers and presentations in the social and behavioral sciences.

 

APA Publication Manual. 6th ed.

Additional information is found in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th ed. A copy is available from the LRC circulation desk. A link to the LRC catalog record is below.

 

Credits

APA Style Guides by Highline Community College Library, Des Moines, WA

The OWL at Purdue University, Lafayette, IN

 

Citation Formats and Examples

APA citation styles require specific formats for print, database, online and movie/DVD/video sources and in-text citations. The basic format and example(s) for each of these are shown below. Note: If you are viewing this page on your mobile device, some of the formatting may not appear. Please make sure your works cited entries have the correct indentation and formatting.

 

Citing Print Sources

BOOKS (APA 7.02.18):

Format for up to 7 authors –

Author(s). (Date). Title. Place of Publication: Publisher.  

Examples –

Singer, E. (1992). Childcare & the psychology of development. New York: Rutledge.

Balz, D. J., & Johnson, H. B. (2009). The battle for America 2008: The story of an extraordinary election. New York, NY: Viking.

 

SCHOLARLY JOURNAL ARTICLES (APA 7.01.3):

Format –

Author(s). (Date). Article title. Periodical title, Volume (Issue number, if available), Page Numbers.

Example -  

Merkel-Hess, K., & Wasserstrom, J. (2009). A country on the move: China urbanizes. Current History, 108(717), 167-172.  

 

MAGAZINE ARTICLES (APA 7.01.7):

Format –

Author(s). (Date). Article title. Periodical title, Volume (Issue number, if available), Page Numbers.

Example –

Poniewozik, J. (2009, July 27). What price journalism? Time, 174(3), 21.

 

NEWSPAPER ARTICLES (APA 7.01.10):

Format –

Author(s). (Date). Article title. Newspaper title, Page Numbers.

Example –

Hagerty, J. R., & Timiraos, N. (2009, August 22). Housing lifts recovery hopes. The Wall Street Journal, pp. A1, A2.

 

Citing Online Resources

Note: The location information you provide for an online journal article depends on whether or not the article has been assigned a DOI (Digital Object Identifier). If a DOI is used, do not give a URL or database name. If a DOI is not listed for a journal article, you may provide the URL for the journal homepage. According to the Publication Manual, it is generally not necessary to give the name of the database from which you retrieved the article (APA 6.32). The examples listed in this section reflect these rules. However, some instructors may want database names included in references. 

Note: Because TCL databases articles cannot be located automatically via the DOI or URL when off campus, some instructors may prefer that references include the database name instead of a DOI or URL.

Please ask your TCL instructor for specific citation guidelines.

 

SCHOLARLY JOURNAL ARTICLE WITH DOI (retrieved from a database) (APA 6.31)

Format -

Author(s). (Year). Article title. Journal title, Volume(issue number if available), Page Numbers. doi:xx.xxxxxx

Example -

Shedler, J. (2010). The efficacy of psychodynamic psychotherapy. American Psychologist 65(2), 98-109. doi:10.1037/a0018378

 

SCHOLARLY JOURNAL ARTICLE WITH NO DOI (retrieved from a database) (APA 6.31)

Format -

Author(s). (Year). Article title. Journal title, Volume(issue number if available), Page Numbers.

Example -

Falasca, K., Mancino, P., Ucciferri, C., Dalessandro, M., Manzoli, L., & Pizzigallo, E., et al. (2009). Quality of life, depression, and

         cytokine patterns in patients with chronic hepatitis C treated with antiviral therapy. Clinical Investigative Medicine, 32(3), E212-

         E218.  

 

ONLINE PERIODICAL ARTICLE (not from a database) (APA 7.01.1, 8):

Format -

Author(s). (Year, Month). Title of article. Title of Periodical, Volume(issue number if available). Retrieved from web address

      of the journal home page

Example -

Castellano, C. M. (2009, May/June). A trip around the food law world: Introducing new food products in the global marketplace.

         Business Law Today, 1(5). Retrieved from http://www.abanet.org/buslaw/blt/

 

PAGE FROM A WEBSITE (APA Website):

Format -

Author(s). (Date or n.d. for no date). Title of work. Retrieved from web address

Example-

Hogan, L. (2009, August 24). Ancient skeletons could help solve mystery of rare disease. Retrieved from

         http://www.independent.ie/national-news/ancient-skeletons-could-help--solve-mystery-of-rare-disease-1867610.html

 

Citing Audiovisual Media

MOTION PICTURE (APA 7.07):

Format -

Producer, A. A. (Producer), & Director, A. A. (Director). (Year). Title of motion picture [Motion picture]. Country of Origin: Studio.

Example-

Macdonald, A. (Producer), & Boyle, D. (Director). (2007). Sunshine [Motion picture]. United Kingdom: DNA Films.

 

MUSIC RECORDING (APA 7.07):

Format -  

Songwriter, S. S. (Year of copyright). Title of song [Recorded by artist if different from song writer]. On Title of album [Medium of

         recording: CD, record, etc.]. Location: Label. (Recording date if different from copyright date)

Example-

Bird, A. (2007). Fiery crash. On Armchair Apocrypha [CD]. Oxford, MS: Fat Possum Records.

 

VIDEO BLOG POST (e.g., YouTube video) (APA 7.11)

Format -

Author, A.A. (Year, Month Day). Title of post [Description of form]. Retrieved from http://www.xxx

Note: If no full name is available, use author's screen name.

Example -

Emilyatchemlib. (2008, April 24). Boolean operators [Video file]. Retrieved from http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xsSZps3NH-

         M&feature=related  

 

In-Text Citations for Author(s)

A WORK BY TWO AUTHORS (APA 6.11):

Format -

For the first use, put first surname "and" second surname (date); thereafter, use “&” between names (date).

Examples-

Research by Sarris and Kavanagh (2009) builds on...

(Sarris & Kavanagh, 2009)

 

A WORK BY THREE TO FIVE AUTHORS (APA 6.12):

Format - Surname of all authors (Year) in the first citation. Thereafter, (first author's surname, "et al.," Year)

 Examples -

(Anderson, Glod, Dai, Cao, & Lockley, 2009)

(Anderson et al., 2009)

 

AUTHORS WITH THE SAME LAST NAME (APA 6.14):

Format - (First initial. Last name, Year; First initial. Last name, Publication Year.)

Example -

(E. Johnson, 2001; L. Johnson, 1998)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip