Introduction
In this guide you will find information on how to create citations for articles found in databases. Many TCL databases will help you to create MLA-style citations, and through the LRC you can access additional citation tools like NoodleTools (see the Citation Resources section of this guide for more information). Unfortunately, computer-generated citations occasionally contain errors. It is important that you know how to find citation information for database articles so that you can create an error-free Works Cited page.
Note: Always check with your instructor about the citation guidelines for your assignments. Instructors may have preferences for what information should be included in citations. For instance, the examples in this guide follow current MLA guidelines and do not include URLS (web addresses), but your instructor may ask that you include URLs in your citations.
Helpful Guides
- Last Updated Mar 13, 2012
Use the examples and resources listed in this guide to create MLA style citations.
- Last Updated Mar 23, 2012
Learn how to use title pages to create MLA-style citations for books.
- Last Updated May 8, 2012
Use the LRC's subscription databases to find articles for your research.
Tell us what you think
General rules
This is the basic form you should use when creating a Works Cited page entry for a periodical article from a database:
Author name. “Title of the Article.” Title of Journal or Magazine Volume.Issue
(Year): Pages. Database name. Publication Medium (Web.) Access date.
Note: If page numbers are not continuous, give the first page number followed by a plus sign; if pagination is not known, use “n. pag.”
Example:
Escaleras, Monica P., and Charles A. Register. “Mitigating Natural Disasters Through
Collective Action: The Effectiveness of Tsunami Early Warnings.” Southern
Economic Journal 74.4 (2008): 1017-1034. Academic OneFile. Web. 11 Aug. 2009.
Note: This is probably the most common type of source you will cite. However, many databases include articles from sources other than periodicals. See the Points of View Reference Center tab for an example of how to cite an article reprinted from a book rather than a periodical.
Got a question?
Type your question below and click "Ask Us," or text the library at 843-256-2247.
- How do I create a header in Word for an MLA style report?
- Where do we go to look at the Point/Counterpoint articles to help us find ideas about a topic for our argument assignment or solution to a problem?
- Where do I find sources for a literature paper?
- How do I create an annotated bibliography?
- How do I find a scholarly journal article?
- How do I use databases to find articles?
Librarian
My favorite books:: Wonder Boys by Michael Chabon, Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien, Emma by Jane Austen |

Loading...
