Examples
WORKS CITED PAGES
The Works Cited page is a separate page at the end of your paper. It should include all sources cited in your main text. The following examples do not cover every type of work you may need to cite. For more examples, please consult one of the resources listed under the “MLA Citation Resources” tab of this guide. Note: If you are viewing this page on your mobile device, some of the formatting may not appear. Please make sure your works cited entries have the correct indentation and formatting.
BOOKS:
Basic Form
Author name. Title of the Book. Publisher location: Publisher name, Publication date. Publication medium (Print.)
Examples
Berger, Leslie. The Grand Jury. Philadelphia: Chelsea House, 2000. Print.
Kohl, Jeanne, and Jane Reisman. Explorations in Social Research: Qualitative and Quantitative Applications. Los Angeles:
Roxbury, 1994. Print.
An essay, short story, poem or chapter in a collection:
Basic form
Author name. “Title of Essay.” Title of Collection. Ed. Editor’s Name(s). Publication location: Publisher, Year. Page range of entry.
Medium of Publication.
Example
Johnson, Samuel. “The Boarding House.” The Art of the Personal Essay: An Anthology from the Classical Era to the Present. Ed.
Philip Lopate. New York: Anchor, 1994. 137-140. Print.
Chapter from eBook, formerly published in print:
Basic form
Author name. “Title of Essay.” Title of Collection. Ed. Editor’s Name(s). Print publication location: Print Publisher, Year. Page range of
entry. Database/Website name. Medium of Publication (Web). Date accessed.
Example
Werner, Craig. “August Wilson’s Burden: The Function of Neoclassical Jazz.” May All Your Fences Have Gates: Essays on the Drama
of August Wilson. Ed. Alan Nadel. Iowa City: U of Iowa, 1994. 21-50. NetLibrary. Web. 28 Jan. 2010.
MAGAZINE AND NEWSPAPER ARTICLES:
Basic Form
Author name. “Title of the Article.” Publication Title Date: Pages. Publication medium (Print.)
Examples
Begley, Sharon. “Climate-Change Calculus: Why It’s Even Worse Than We Feared.” Newsweek 3 Aug. 2009: 30. Print.
Blackledge, Brett J. “Probe: Sanford Broke Laws on Travel.” The Beaufort Gazette 11 Aug. 2009: A1. Print.
Scholarly Articles
Basic Form
Author name. “Title of the Article.” Journal Title Volume.Issue (Year): Pages. Publication medium. (Print.)
Examples
Gibbons, Susanne W. “Theory Synthesis for Self-neglect: A Health and Social Phenomenon.” Nursing Research 58.3 (2009): 194-200.
Print.
Barron, Stephen W. “Differential Coercion, Street Youth, and Violent Crime.” Criminology 47.1 (2009): 239-267. Print.
Articles Retrieved from Online Databases
Basic Form
Author name. “Title of the Article.” Title of Journal or Magazine Volume.Issue (Year): Pages. Database name. Publication Medium
(Web.) Access date.
(If page numbers are not continuous, give the first page number followed by a plus sign; if pagination is not known, use “n. pag.”)
Examples
Scholarly -
Lawson, Steven R. “Computer Simulation as a Tool for Planning and Management of Visitor Use in Protected Natural Areas.”
Journal of Sustainable Tourism 14.6 (2006): 600-617. Academic Search Premier. Web. 11 Aug. 2009.
Escaleras, Monica P., and Charles A. Register. “Mitigating Natural Disasters Through Collective Action: The Effectiveness of Tsunami
Early Warnings.” Southern Economic Journal 74.4 (2008): 1017-1034. Academic OneFile. Web. 11 Aug. 2009.
Magazine -
Walsh, Bryan. “Why Are Scotland's Sheep Shrinking?” Time 20 July 2009: 52-53. Points of View Reference Center. Web. 11 Aug.
2009.
Newspaper –
Heavens, Alan J. “Can Going Green Mean Going Too Far?” Philadelphia Inquirer 21 Sept. 2007, n. pag. Custom Newspapers.Web. 11
Aug. 2009.
VIDEOCASSETTES & DVDS:
Basic Form
Title. Director. If pertinent, include screenwriters, performers, producer, and original release date. Distributor, Release date.
Publication medium (Videocassette or DVD.)
Examples
Sister Act. Dir. Emile Ardolino. Perf. Whoopi Goldberg, Maggie Smith. Touchstone Home Video, 1992. Videocassette.
The Latin American Boom. Dir. Pablo Garcia. Films for the Humanities & Sciences, 2007. Videocassette.
WEB PAGES:
Basic Form
Author (or one of the following: Editor, Compiler, Translator). “Title of Work.” Title of Overall Website. Publisher or sponsor (if none
found, use “N.p.”), Date of publication (or “n.d.” for no date). Publication medium (Web.) Date of access. (Note: use a
generic label such as Home page, Introduction, or Online posting for untitled pages. Do not put these in quotations or italics.)
Example
Census History Staff. “History: Through the Decades.” United States Census Bureau. United States Census Bureau, 2009. Web. 12
Aug. 2009.
Originally available in print
Original publication info. Title of Database or Web Site. Publication medium (Web.) Access date.
Example
Isabel Ecclestone Mackay. Fires of Driftwood. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, Ltd. 1922. Project Gutenberg. Web. 11 Aug. 2009.
Available in medium other than print
Original publication info. Title of Database or Web Site. Publication medium (Web.) Access date.
Example
Steinbauer, Nathan. “Smuggs: Smugglers' Notch Archaeology Dig.” Smugglers' Notch Resort. 20 July 2009. YouTube.com. Web.
25 June 2009.
PARENTHETICAL REFERENCES
Parenthetical references or references within the text of a research paper must point to a specific source in that paper’s list of works cited. These references must be as specific as possible and generally consist of the author or authors’ names and the relevant page numbers of the information discussed. If the author’s name is clearly identified in your text, put the number reference in parentheses. Otherwise, the references are placed within parentheses with a space between the author’s name and the page numbers. Below are a few common examples. For more specific information, see the sources listed at the bottom of the page.
One work by a single author in the list of works cited:
(McAllister 33-41)
More than one author with same last name – add first initial:
(R. Han 5-24) or (A. Han 189-204)
If two or more authors have the same first initial as well as the same last name – use full first names:
(Joan Weston 218-220)
When there is more than one author of a work:
(Broadhead and Phillips 15-19) or (Broadhead, Phillips, and Li 15-19)
If there are more than three authors, follow the form used in the list of works cited. Write out all the authors’ names or abbreviate with “et al.”
(Broadhead, Phillips, Li and Hoverman 15-19) or (Broadhead et al. 15-19)
When citing from a multivolume work, include the volume number followed by a colon before the page numbers:
(Harper 6: 28-33)
When the work is listed by title in the List of Works Cited, use the full title or the first part of the title in place of an author:
(Hirohito and the Making of Modern Japan 625) or (Hirohito 625)
Web Pages and Videotapes
When citing an electronic source that does not have page numbers or any other type of reference markers, it is usually easier to refer to it directly within the text. If you listed the source by author in your list of works cited, refer to it by author. If you listed it by title, refer to it by title.
Patrick Poitevin and Joanne Poitevin’s Solar Eclipse Calendar gives details on past, current-year and future eclipses, by date.
or
Solar Eclipse Calendar, by Patrick Poitevin and Joanne Poitevin, gives details on past, current-year and future eclipses, by date.
Got a Question? Fast Answers and FAQs
Type your question in the box below, or text us at 843-256-2247.
Librarian
My favorite books:: Wonder Boys by Michael Chabon, Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien, Emma by Jane Austen |
Credits
This page has been derived from: MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 7th ed. New York: MLA, 2009. Print. For additional examples and information, ask for this book at the library information desk.
Adapted from MLA Citation Guide, William M. Brish Library, Hagerstown Community College.


Loading...
